Image by Ed Robertson via Unsplash

I Read Over 300 Books This Year and Reviewed All of Them

2020 was a disaster. At least I got to read a lot.

Lily Herman
15 min readDec 31, 2020

--

One of my growing insecurities in full-blown adulthood was the fact that I didn’t read books as much or as expansively as I used to or as I felt I should.

Sure, as someone who makes her living partially off of writing angry diatribes for the internet, I read a lot: Op-eds, takedowns, historical context, investigative reporting, you name it. But nothing really takes the place of opening a book or clicking “Play” on an audiobook and settling into a story for the long haul, similar to how watching a single YouTube video is awesome but sometimes you just need that one amazing TV series or film.

Even before my whole Winging It plan went to shit thanks to the pandemic, I started to think about what else I wanted to achieve this year and felt really inspired by my friend Mackenzie Newcomb. Several years ago, Mackenzie felt like she’d maybe read a handful of books in any given calendar year and sought to change that. She soon became one of the most voracious readers I know, and her endeavors eventually led her to start the wildly popular Bad Bitch Book Club.

And so I thought to myself: What made me get to a place of not reading as much to begin with?

As I reflected on my reading habits over the years, I realized that I went through a long period in late adolescence and early adulthood where I believed that I should only read Big Important Things™, like nonfiction that made me feel deep and worldly. I never read fiction, and if I did, it had to be literary and serious. Obviously, this line of thinking was exhausting; I spent a lot of time either not getting through books or feeling like I wasn’t smart enough to understand them. Over time, I started to dread books and not even open them.

So, in the midst of my marathon crisis, the catalyst for my whole Winging It year, I decided to change that. I was no longer going to confine myself solely to books about Big Important Things™. I was no longer going to pretend that genres like romance were fluff. I was no longer going to confine myself.

And damn, what a difference that made.

Some people might look at an “X books per year” goal and feel stressed. But I think the reason I read so many books this year is due to three factors. First, I’m a fast reader; I always have been. Second, audiobooks count as reading for me; I’m not a reading purist or ableist asshole who tells people that something’s not a book unless it’s a paper book read under the cloak of night by a single candle or some archaic bullshit. And third, over the past few years, I forgot how much I absolutely love reading. I inhale books, and that’s been the case my entire life. This year was like opening the floodgates: As soon as I remembered that reading has always been a passion of mine, I wanted to read everything, including everything new this year and everything I’ve missed over the past several years (which, you know, is a lot).

Reflecting on the year, it wasn’t the goal of trying to reach 50 books that was addicting; it was the way books made me feel. I’ve just felt really alive since I started reading so much. There’s more empathy in my life. More knowledge. More thoughts. A wholeness there, if you will.

I’m not putting any pressure on myself to outdo this goal next year or in any subsequent year; I never want reading to feel like a chore or something I do strictly to meet some arbitrary number. But I’ve absolutely loved re-immersing myself in books this year in a way I haven’t recently and connecting with so many friends over books along the way.

Now, onto business.

I’ve listed all the books at the top here along with my rating, but if you’re interested in reading my full Goodreads reviews of each, they’re below as well.

How do I rate books? Obviously it’s a fully subjective exercise, but here’s my general rating system:

  • 1 Star: It’s a yikes dot com situation, folks. There’s nothing more to it than that.
  • 2 Stars: Depending on the genre, two-star books usually have one of two issues for me: 1) there’s some sort of glaring dilemma that makes a book difficult to understand or enjoy (a problematic setup or thesis, a truly awful protagonist who isn’t even awful in an interesting way, etc.), or 2) it’s a book that made me have to tape my eyes open and lock myself in a room without my phone just to finish it.
  • 3 Stars: Generally solid (good characters, nice plot, easier to get through) but forgettable. These are books I probably won’t revisit and will usually only recommend to very specific people who have a niche interest in that genre or something in the plot. Three-star books are middle of the road for me personally.
  • 4 Stars: A wonderful book and one that I learned a lot from, thoroughly enjoyed from start to finish without getting bored for lengthy periods of time, and/or think of as truly unforgettable.
  • 5 Stars: I rarely give these out and it means I want to reread these books indefinitely, get quotes from them tattooed on my body, and buy every piece of merch that have anything to do with them. I will publicly stan these books for years to come. (Example: I literally bought a Claremont for America 2020 t-shirt after reading Red, White & Royal Blue.)

You can also follow me on Goodreads for more of this ~exciting literary content~.

Onto the books:

January

  1. Catch and Kill: Lies, Spies, and a Conspiracy to Protect Predators by Ronan Farrow|4/5 Stars|My Review
  2. The Kiss Quotient by Helen Hoang|3.5/5 Stars|My Review
  3. The Bride Test by Helen Hoang|3.5/5 Stars|My Review
  4. The Argonauts by Maggie Nelson|4/5 Stars|My Review
  5. The Hating Game by Sally Thorne|3.5/5 Stars|My Review
  6. The Bromance Book Club by Lyssa Kay Adams|4/5 Stars|My Review
  7. Edith Halpert, the Downtown Gallery, and the Rise of American Art by Rebecca Shaykin|4/5 Stars|My Review
  8. How to Hack a Heartbreak by Kristin Rockaway|2.5/5 Stars|My Review
  9. You Me Everything by Catherine Isaac|4/5 Stars|My Review
  10. Twelve Sharp by Janet Evanovich|3/5 Stars|My Review
  11. Lean Mean Thirteen by Janet Evanovich|3/5 Stars|My Review
  12. Eloquent Rage by Brittney Cooper|5/5 Stars|My Review
  13. Fearless Fourteen by Janet Evanovich|2.5/5 Stars|My Review
  14. Finger Lickin’ Fifteen by Janet Evanovich|3/5 Stars|My Review
  15. Maybe You Should Talk to Someone by Lori Gottlieb|5/5 Stars|My Review
  16. The Wedding Date by Jasmine Guillory|3/5 Stars|My Review
  17. The Right Swipe by Alisha Rai|3.5/5 Stars|My Review
  18. Josh and Hazel’s Guide to Not Dating by Christina Lauren|4/5 Stars|My Review
  19. Less by Andrew Sean Greer|4/5 Stars|My Review
  20. Why I Am Not a Feminist: A Feminist Manifesto by Jessa Crispin|1.5/5 Stars|My Review
  21. Trust Exercise by Susan Choi|2/5 Stars|My Review
  22. Evvie Drake Starts Over|5/5 Stars|My Review
  23. I’ll Be Gone in the Dark: One Woman’s Obsessive Search for the Golden State Killer by Michelle McNamara|4/5 Stars|My Review
  24. A Woman of No Importance: The Untold Story of the American Spy Who Helped Win World War II by Sonia Purnell|4/5 Stars|My Review
  25. Sizzling Sixteen by Janet Evanovich|3/5 Stars|My Review
  26. The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo by Taylor Jenkins Reid|4.5/5 Stars|My Review
  27. My Favorite Half-Night Stand by Christina Lauren|4/5 Stars|My Review
  28. Love and Other Words by Christina Lauren|4/5 Stars|My Review
  29. In the Dream House: A Memoir by Carmen Maria Machado|4/5 Stars|My Review
  30. My Oxford Year by Julia Whelan|3.5/5 Stars|My Review
  31. There There by Tommy Orange|3.5/5 Stars|My Review
  32. Dating You/Hating You by Christina Lauren|4/5 Stars|My Review
  33. One Day in December by Josie Silver|5/5 Stars|My Review
  34. Get a Life, Chloe Brown by Talia Hibbert|3.5/5 Stars|My Review
  35. Fight or Flight by Samantha Young|3.5/5 Stars|My Review
  36. The Honey-Don’t List by Christina Lauren|3.5/5 Stars|My Review
  37. Roomies by Christina Lauren|4/5 Stars|My Review

February

  1. Red at the Bone by Jacqueline Woodson|3/5 Stars|My Review
  2. Such a Fun Age by Kiley Reid|4/5 Stars|My Review
  3. Meet Cute by Helena Hunting|3.5/5 Stars|My Review
  4. I Should Have Honor: A Memoir of Hope and Pride in Pakistan by Khalida Brohi|3.5 Stars|My Review
  5. Things You Save in a Fire by Katherine Center|5/5 Stars|My Review
  6. How to Walk Away by Katherine Center|3.5/5 Stars|My Review
  7. The Worst Best Man by Mia Sosa|4/5 Stars|My Review
  8. Undercover Bromance by Lyssa Kay Adams|4/5 Stars|My Review
  9. The Two Lives of Lydia Bird by Josie Silver|5/5 Stars|My Review
  10. Writers & Lovers by Lily King|2.5/5 Stars|My Review
  11. Twice in a Blue Moon by Christina Lauren|2/5 Stars|My Review
  12. The Happy Ever After Playlist by Abby Jimenez|2.5/5 Stars|My Review
  13. Beach Read by Emily Henry|5/5 Stars|My Review
  14. Recipe for Persuasion by Sonali Dev|2/5 Stars|My Review
  15. The Royal We by Heather Cocks and Jessica Morgan|3/5 Stars|My Review
  16. One to Watch by Kate Stayman-London|4/5 Stars|My Review
  17. New Waves by Kevin Nguyen|2/5/5 Stars|My Review
  18. Girl Gone Viral by Alisha Rai|3.5/5 Stars|My Review
  19. The Tourist Attraction by Sarah Morgenthaler|3/5 Stars|My Review
  20. Open Book by Jessica Simpson|4/5 Stars|My Review
  21. The Friend Zone by Abby Jimenez|2.5/5 Stars|My Review
  22. Saint X by Alexis Schaitkin|2.5/5 Stars|My Review
  23. Here for It: Or, How to Save Your Soul in America by R. Eric Thomas|4/5 Stars|My Review
  24. The Good Luck Charm by Helena Hunting|3.5/5 Stars|My Review
  25. When Breath Becomes Air by Paul Kalanithi|5/5 Stars|My Review
  26. A Woman Is No Man by Etaf Rum|4/5 Stars|My Review
  27. The Proposal by Jasmine Guillory|2.5/5 Stars|My Review
  28. Pride, Prejudice, and Other Flavors by Sonali Dev|2/5 Stars|My Review

March

  1. Fix Her Up by Tessa Bailey|2/5 Stars|My Review
  2. Take a Hint, Dani Brown by Talia Hibbert|4/5 Stars|My Review
  3. Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine by Gail Honeyman|4/5 Stars|My Review
  4. The Girl He Used to Know by Tracey Garvis Graves|1.5/5 Stars|My Review
  5. Would Like to Meet by Rachel Winters|2.5/5 Stars|My Review
  6. Anna K. by Jenny Lee|4/5 Stars|My Review
  7. You Deserve Each Other by Sarah Hogle|3.5/5 Stars|My Review
  8. Not That Kind of Guy by Andie J. Christopher|3.5/5 Stars|My Review
  9. The Trouble with Hating You by Sajni Patel|4/5 Stars|My Review
  10. The Groom Will Keep His Name by Matt Ortile|4/5 Stars|My Review
  11. My Sister, the Serial Killer by Oyinkan Braithwaite|3/5 Stars|My Review
  12. Don’t You Forget About Me by Mhairi McFarlane|4/5 Stars|My Review
  13. The Mothers by Brit Bennett|4/5 Stars|My Review
  14. The Bookish Life of Nina Hill by Abbi Waxman|4/5 Stars|My Review
  15. Ask Again, Yes by Mary Beth Keane|3.5/5 Stars|My Review
  16. The Witches Are Coming by Lindy West|3/5 Stars|My Review
  17. Don’t Go Stealing My Heart by Kelly Siskind|1.5/5 Stars|My Review
  18. The Marriage Game by Sara Desai|4/5 Stars|My Review
  19. An American Marriage by Tayari Jones|3.5/5 Stars|My Review
  20. Not the Girl You Marry by Andie J. Christopher|2/5 Stars|My Review
  21. The Flatshare by Beth O’Leary|2.5/5 Stars|My Review
  22. Erotic Stories for Punjabi Widows by Balli Kaur Jaswal|3.5/5 Stars|My Review
  23. Love Her or Lose Her by Tessa Bailey|2.5/5 Stars|My Review
  24. White Fragility by Robin DiAngelo|4/5 Stars|My Review
  25. What You Wish For by Katherine Center|3.5/5 Stars|My Review
  26. Darling Rose Gold by Stephanie Wrobel|3.5/5 Stars|My Review
  27. Island Affair by Priscilla Oliveras|2/5 Stars|My Review
  28. So We Can Glow by Lessa Cross-Smith|3/5 Stars|My Review
  29. She’s Faking It by Kristin Rockaway|2.5/5 Stars|My Review
  30. Dear Edward by Ann Napolitano|4/5 Stars|My Review
  31. Tweet Cute by Emma Lord|4/5 Stars|My Review
  32. Minor Feelings by Cathy Park Hong|4/5 Stars|My Review
  33. The Antidote for Everything by Kimmery Martin|2/5 Stars|My Review
  34. The Authenticity Project by Clare Pooley|1/5 Stars|My Review
  35. Unmarriageable by Soniah Kamal|3.5/5 Stars|My Review
  36. The Herd by Andrea Bartz|3.5/5 Stars|My Review
  37. After I Do by Taylor Jenkins Reid|4.5/5 Stars|My Review
  38. Waiting to Tom Hanks by Kerry Winfrey|1.5/5 Stars|My Review
  39. The Heir Affair by Heather Cocks and Jessica Morgan|3/5 Stars|My Review
  40. Bringing Down the Duke by Evie Dunmore|4/5 Stars|My Review
  41. How to Be an Antiracist by Ibram X. Kendi|5/5 Stars|My Review
  42. Nobody Will Tell You This But Me by Bess Kalb|4/5 Stars|My Review
  43. Normal People by Sally Rooney|4/5 Stars|My Review

April

  1. Natalie Tan’s Book of Luck and Fortune by Roselle Lim|1/5 Stars|My Review
  2. How to Do Nothing by Jenny Odell|3/5 Stars|My Review
  3. Boyfriend Material by Alexis Hall|4.5/5 Stars|My Review
  4. Wow, No Thank You by Samantha Irby|4/5 Stars|My Review
  5. One True Loves by Taylor Jenkins Reid|4/5 Stars|My Review
  6. Head Over Heels by Hannah Orenstein|4/5 Stars|My Review
  7. The Sun Down Motel by Simone St. James|4/5 Stars|My Review
  8. Conventionally Yours by Annabeth Albert|3/5 Stars|My Review
  9. Love Lettering by Kate Clayborn|2.5/5 Stars|My Review
  10. Maybe in Another Life by Taylor Jenkins Reid|4/5 Stars|My Review
  11. November 9 by Colleen Hoover|1.5/5 Stars|My Review
  12. Good Morning, Destroyer of Men’s Souls by Nina Renata Aron|5/5 Stars|My Review
  13. American Royals II: Majesty by Katharine McGee|4/5 Stars|My Review
  14. Whisper Network by Chandler Baker|3/5 Stars|My Review
  15. Intercepted by Alexa Martin|2.5/5 Stars|My Review
  16. Tools of Engagement by Tessa Bailey|3.5/5 Stars|My Review
  17. Big Friendship by Aminatou Sow and Ann Friedman|5/5 Stars|My Review
  18. This Is How You Lose the Time War by Amal El-Mohtar and Max Gladstone|4/5 Stars|My Review
  19. We Ride Upon Sticks by Quan Barry|2.5/5 Stars|My Review
  20. 99 Percent Mine by Sally Thorne|1/5 Stars|My Review
  21. How to Pronounce Knife by Souvankham Thammavongsa|3/5 Stars|My Review
  22. Eligible by Curtis Sittenfeld|4/5 Stars|My Review
  23. If I Had Your Face by Frances Cha|3/5 Stars|My Review
  24. Ayesha at Last by Uzma Jalaluddin|3.5/5 Stars|My Review
  25. The Simple Wild by K.A. Tucker|4/5 Stars|My Review
  26. The Earl Not Taken by A.S. Fenichel|3/5 Stars|My Review
  27. Romancing the Duke by Tessa Dare|4/5 Stars|My Review
  28. Why We Can’t Sleep by Ada Calhoun|3/5 Stars|My Review
  29. Flash Crash by Liam Vaughn|4/5 Stars|My Review
  30. Madame Clairevoyant’s Guide to the Stars by Claire Comstock-Gay|4/5 Stars|My Review
  31. You Had Me at Hola by Alexis Daria|3.5/5 Stars|My Review
  32. Sex and Vanity by Kevin Kwan|2/5 Stars|My Review

May

  1. Oona Out of Order by Margarita Montimore|3.5/5 Stars|My Review
  2. A Rogue of One’s Own by Evie Dunmore|5/5 Stars|My Review
  3. The Rakess by Scarlett Peckham|3/5 Stars|My Review
  4. Dear Girls by Ali Wong|4/5 Stars|My Review
  5. Upright Women Wanted by Sarah Gailey|3/5 Stars|My Review
  6. Wild at Heart by K.A. Tucker|4/5 Stars|My Review
  7. Rodham by Curtis Sittenfeld|2.5/5 Stars|My Review
  8. Followers by Megan Angelo|3.5/5 Stars|My Review
  9. The Stationery Shop by Marjan Kamali|4/5 Stars|My Review
  10. Inside Out by Demi Moore|3.5/5 Stars|My Review
  11. Loathe at First Sight by Suzanne Park|2/5 Stars|My Review
  12. Misleading a Duke by A.S. Fenichel|3/5 Stars|My Review
  13. If I Never Met You by Mhairi McFarlane|4/5 Stars|My Review
  14. Just Mercy by Bryan Stephenson|4/5 Stars|My Review
  15. Anxious People by Fredrik Backman|5/5 Stars|My Review
  16. The Idea of You by Robinne Lee|3/5 Stars|My Review
  17. Wicked and the Wallflower by Sarah MacLean|3.5/5 Stars|My Review
  18. Brazen and the Beast by Sarah MacLean|4/5 Stars|My Review
  19. Daring and the Duke by Sarah MacLean|3.5/5 Stars|My Review
  20. Severance by Ling Ma|2.5/5 Stars|My Review
  21. Meet You in the Middle by Devon Daniels|1.5/5 Stars|My Review
  22. To Have and to Hoax by Martha Waters|3/5 Stars|My Review
  23. Uncanny Valley by Anna Wiener|2.5/5 Stars|My Review
  24. The Wives by Tarryn Fisher|1/5 Stars|My Review
  25. Say Yes to the Marquess by Tessa Dare|3/5 Stars|My Review
  26. Grin and Beard It by Penny Reid|2/5 Stars|My Review
  27. Kiss My Cupcake by Helena Hunting|2/5 Stars|My Review
  28. Lady Romeo by Tana Wojczuk|3/5 Stars|My Review
  29. Truth or Beard by Penny Reid|3/5 Stars|My Review
  30. Beard Science by Penny Reid|4/5 Stars|My Review
  31. Beard in Mind by Penny Reid|2/5 Stars|My Review
  32. When a Scot Ties the Knot|3.5/5 Stars|My Review
  33. Well Played by Jen DeLuca|3.5/5 Stars|My Review
  34. Forever, Interrupted by Taylor Jenkins Reid|3/5 Stars|My Review

June

  1. In a Holidaze by Christina Lauren|4/5 Stars|My Review
  2. Pizza Girl by Jean Kyoung Frazier|4/5 Stars|My Review
  3. The Governess Game by Tessa Dare|4/5 Stars|My Review
  4. The Rogue Not Taken by Sarah MacLean|3.5/5 Stars|My Review
  5. The Vanishing Half by Brit Bennett|5/5 Stars|My Review
  6. Only Mostly Devastated by Sophie Gonzales|4/5 Stars|My Review
  7. Last Tang Standing by Lauren Ho|2.5/5 Stars|My Review
  8. Love Lives Here by Amanda Jette Knox|4/5 Stars|My Review
  9. Before We Were Strangers by Renee Carlino|2/5 Stars|My Review
  10. A Black Women’s History of the United States by Daina Ramey Berry and Kali Nicole Gross|4/5 Stars|My Review
  11. Ties That Tether by Jane Igharo|3.5/5 Stars|My Review
  12. A Rogue by Any Other Name by Sarah MacLean|4/5 Stars|My Review
  13. Dr. Strange Beard by Penny Reid|3.5/5 Stars|My Review
  14. Do You Want to Start a Scandal by Tessa Dare|4/5 Stars|My Review
  15. It Ends With Us by Colleen Hoover|4/5 Stars|My Review
  16. Queen Move by Kennedy Ryan|4/5 Stars|My Review
  17. Crazy Stupid Bromance by Lyssa Kay Adams|4/5 Stars|My Review
  18. Well-Behaved Indian Women by Saumya Dave|2/5 Stars|My Review
  19. Mr. Malcolm’s List by Suzanne Allain|2/5 Stars|My Review
  20. Spoiler Alert by Olivia Dade|4/5 Stars|My Review
  21. Mexican Gothic by Silvia Moreno-Garcia|4/5 Stars|My Review
  22. The Holdout by Graham Moore|3/5 Stars|My Review
  23. The Duchess Deal by Tessa Dare|4/5 Stars|My Review
  24. Felix Ever After by Kacen Callender|4/5 Stars|My Review
  25. One Good Earl Deserves a Lover by Sarah MacLean|2.5/5 Stars|My Review
  26. Beloved by Toni Morrison|4/5 Stars|My Review
  27. How to Fail at Flirting by Denise Williams|3/5 Stars|My Review
  28. The Cancer Journals by Audre Lorde|4/5 Stars|My Review
  29. Any Duchess Will Do by Tessa Dare|3.5/5 Stars|My Review

July

  1. You Have a Match by Emma Lord|4/5 Stars|My Review
  2. Incomparable by Brie and Nikki Bella|3/5 Stars|My Review
  3. The Wallflower Wager by Tessa Dare|4/5 Stars|My Review
  4. Black Buck by Mateo Askaripour|4/5 Stars|My Review
  5. Bluebird, Bluebird by Attica Locke|3/5 Stars|My Review
  6. More Than Enough by Elaine Welteroth|4/5 Stars|My Review
  7. A Week to Be Wicked by Tessa Dare|2.5/5 Stars|My Review
  8. We’re Going to Need More Wine by Gabrielle Union|4/5 Stars|My Review
  9. You Should See Me in a Crown by Leah Johnson|4/5 Stars|My Review
  10. A Long Petal of the Sea by Isabel Allende|3/5 Stars|My Review
  11. Sabrina & Corina by Kali Fajardo-Anstine|3.5/5 Stars|My Review
  12. Ace by Angela Chen|5/5 Stars|My Review
  13. A Night to Surrender by Tessa Dare|3/5 Stars|My Review
  14. When No One Is Watching by Alyssa Cole|3/5 Stars|My Review
  15. Engagement and Espionage by Penny Reid|4/5 Stars|My Review
  16. Why I’m No Longer Talking to White People About Race by Reni Eddo-Lodge|4/5 Stars|My Review
  17. The A.I. Who Loved Me by Alyssa Cole|3/5 Stars|My Review
  18. The State of Us by Shaun David Hutchinson|1/5 Stars|My Review
  19. Abandon Me by Melissa Febos|3/5 Stars|My Review
  20. My Lovely Wife by Samantha Downing|3.5/5 Stars|My Review
  21. Evidence of the Affair by Taylor Jenkins Reid|3/5 Stars|My Review
  22. No Good Duke Goes Unpunished by Sarah MacLean|2.5/5 Stars|My Review
  23. Real Men Knit by Kwana Jackson|2/5 Stars|My Review
  24. Hearts Unbroken by Cynthia Leitich Smith|3.5/5 Stars|My Review
  25. Daisy Jones and the Six by Taylor Jenkins Reid|4/5 Stars|My Review
  26. A Lady by Midnight by Tessa Dare|3.5/5 Stars|My Review
  27. Never Judge a Lady by Her Cover by Sarah MacLean|3/5 Stars|My Review
  28. Disability Visibility by Alice Wong|4/5 Stars|My Review
  29. It Is Wood, It Is Stone by Gabriella Burnham|3/5 Stars|My Review
  30. One Dance with a Duke by Tessa Dare|3.5/5 Stars|My Review

August

  1. Hood Feminism by Mikki Kendall|5/5 Stars|My Review
  2. Twice Tempted by a Rogue by Tessa Dare|2/5 Stars|My Review
  3. Hidden Sins by Selena Montgomery|2.5/5 Stars|My Review
  4. Let’s Talk About Love by Claire Kann|3/5 Stars|My Review
  5. Heart Berries by Terese Marie Mailhot|3/5 Stars|My Review
  6. The Unwinding of the Miracle by Julie Yip-Williams|4/5 Stars|My Review
  7. Conversations with Friends by Sally Rooney|4/5 Stars|My Review
  8. Birthday Girl by Penelope Douglas|2.5/5 Stars|My Review
  9. All My Mother’s Lovers by Ilana Masad|3/5 Stars|My Review
  10. The Wedding Party by Jasmine Guillory|2.5/5 Stars|My Review
  11. Female Chauvinist Pigs by Ariel Levy|2/5 Stars|My Review
  12. Xeni by Rebekah Weatherspoon|4/5 Stars|My Review
  13. Ghost Boys by Jewell Parker Rhodes|5/5 Stars|My Review
  14. Rafe by Rebekah Weatherspoon|3/5 Stars|My Review
  15. Redefining Realness by Janet Mock|4/5 Stars|My Review
  16. Shockaholic by Carrie Fisher|3/5 Stars|My Review
  17. Sanctuary by Rebekah Weatherspoon|3.5/5 Stars|My Review
  18. American Dreamer by Adriana Herrera|4/5 Stars|My Review
  19. Secrets of a Summer Night by Lisa Kleypas|3/5 Stars|My Review
  20. It Happened One Autumn by Lisa Kleypas|3.5/5 Stars|My Review
  21. Devil in Winter by Lisa Kleypas|3/5 Stars|My Review
  22. Scandal in Spring by Lisa Kleypas|3.5/5 Stars|My Review
  23. Kim Jiyoung, Born 1982 by Cho Nam-Joo|4/5 Stars|My Review
  24. Mine Till Midnight by Lisa Kleypas|2/5 Stars|My Review
  25. Fumbled by Alexa Martin|3/5 Stars|My Review
  26. Parachutes by Kelly Yang|3.5/5 Stars|My Review
  27. Ice Planet Barbarians by Ruby Dixon|2/5 Stars|My Review
  28. The Roommate by Rosie Danan|4/5 Stars|My Review
  29. We Have Always Been Here by Samra Habib|4/5 Stars|My Review
  30. What Kind of Woman by Kate Baer|3/5 Stars|My Review
  31. Lush Money by Angelina M. Lopez|3.5/5 Stars|My Review

September

  1. Sister Outsider by Audre Lorde|5/5 Stars|My Review
  2. Hate Crush by Angelina M. Lopez|2/5 Stars|My Review
  3. The Deal by Elle Kennedy|4/5 Stars|My Review
  4. The Mistake by Elle Kennedy|3/5 Stars|My Review
  5. The Score by Elle Kennedy|3/5 Stars|My Review
  6. The Goal by Elle Kennedy|2/5 Stars|My Review
  7. The Chase by Elle Kennedy|2.5/5 Stars|My Review
  8. Thick by Tressie McMillan Cottom|5/5 Stars|My Review
  9. A Measure of Belonging edited by Cinelle Barnes|4/5 Stars|My Review
  10. The Risk by Elle Kennedy|3.5/5 Stars|My Review
  11. The Play by Elle Kennedy|2/5 Stars|My Review
  12. The Dare by Elle Kennedy|3/5 Stars|My Review
  13. Him by Elle Kennedy and Sarina Bowen|4/5 Stars|My Review
  14. Us by Elle Kennedy and Sarina Bowen|4/5 Stars|My Review
  15. Pucked by Helena Hunting|3/5 Stars|My Review
  16. Epic by Elle Kennedy and Sarina Bowen|4/5 Stars|My Review
  17. The Hook Up by Kristen Callihan|2.5/5 Stars|My Review
  18. Haven by Rebekah Weatherspoon|3/5 Stars|My Review
  19. Block Shot by Kennedy Ryan|2/5 Stars|My Review
  20. Pucked Up by Helena Hunting|2/5 Stars|My Review
  21. The Ex Talk by Rachel Lynn Solomon|4.5/5 Stars|My Review
  22. Harbor by Rebekah Weatherspoon|3/5 Stars|My Review
  23. Three Nights with a Scoundrel by Tessa Dare|3/5 Stars|My Review
  24. Bittersweet by Sarina Bowen|3.5/5 Stars|My Review
  25. Steadfast by Sarina Bowen|3/5 Stars|My Review
  26. Keepsake by Sarina Bowen|4/5 Stars|My Review
  27. Top Secret by Elle Kennedy and Sarina Bowen|4/5 Stars|My Review
  28. Bossman by Vi Keeland|3/5 Stars|My Review
  29. The Year We Fell Down by Sarina Bowen|2.5/5 Stars|My Review
  30. The Book of Rosy by Rosayra Pablo Cruz and Julie Schwietert Collazo|5/5 Stars|My Review
  31. The Stars and the Blackness Between Them by Junauda Petrus|4/5 Stars|My Review
  32. To Love and to Loathe by Martha Waters|4/5 Stars|My Review

October

  1. Act Your Age, Eve Brown by Talia Hibbert|5/5 Stars|My Review
  2. The Intimacy Experiment by Rosie Danan|5/5 Stars|My Review
  3. The Dating Plan by Sara Desai|4/5 Stars|My Review
  4. Finna by Nate Marshall|4/5 Stars|My Review
  5. Bully by Penelope Douglas|2/5 Stars|My Review

November

  1. Capturing the Earl by A.S. Fenichel|2.5/5 Stars|My Review
  2. The Wall of Winnipeg and Me by Mariana Zapata|4/5 Stars|My Review
  3. The Duke and I by Julia Quinn|3/5 Stars|My Review
  4. The Viscount Who Loved Me by Julia Quinn|4/5 Stars|My Review
  5. An Offer From a Gentleman by Julia Quinn|4/5 Stars|My Review
  6. Romancing Mister Bridgerton by Julia Quinn|4/5 Stars|My Review
  7. Sugar Daddy by Lisa Klepyas|2.5/5 Stars|My Review
  8. Priest by Sierra Simone|2/5 Stars|My Review
  9. To Sir Phillip, With Love by Julia Quinn|3/5 Stars|My Review
  10. When He Was Wicked by Julia Quinn|4/5 Stars|My Review
  11. It’s in His Kiss by Julia Quinn|4/5 Stars|My Review
  12. On the Way to the Wedding by Julia Quinn|3/5 Stars|My Review
  13. The Duke I Tempted by Scarlett Peckham|3/5 Stars|My Review
  14. The Earl I Ruined by Scarlett Peckham|3/5 Stars|My Review

December

  1. Forever Wild by K.A. Tucker|4/5 Stars|My Review
  2. The Lord I Left by Scarlett Peckham|3/5 Stars|My Review
  3. Pretty Reckless by LJ Shen|1/5 Stars|My Review
  4. Nine Rules to Break When Romancing a Rake by Sarah MacLean|4/5 Stars|My Review
  5. Ten Ways to Be Adored When Landing a Lord by Sarah MacLean|3/5 Stars|My Review
  6. Eleven Scandals to Start to Win a Duke’s Heart by Sarah MacLean|3/5 Stars|My Review
  7. Just Like Heaven by Julia Quinn|3.5/5 Stars|My Review
  8. A Night Like This by Julia Quinn|3/5 Stars|My Review
  9. The Sum of All Kisses by Julia Quinn|3/5 Stars|My Review
  10. The Rogue of Fifth Avenue by Joanna Shupe|4/5 Stars|My Review
  11. The Prince of Broadway by Joanna Shupe|4/5 Stars|My Review
  12. The Devil of Downtown by Joanna Shupe|4/5 Stars|My Review
  13. The Secret Diaries of Miss Miranda Cheever by Julia Quinn|2/5 Stars|My Review

--

--